Back to news
"Two Igalians were recently recognized for honors"

In the past few weeks, two of our colleagues at Igalia (both members of our compilers team) have been honored with awards.

ACM SIGPLAN Programming Languages Award

The ACM SIGPLAN Programming Languages Award is given to “an institution or individual(s) to recognize the development of a software system that has had a significant impact on programming language research, implementations, and tools.”

In 2024 this award was given to Rust and named 11 specific contributors, including our own Tim Chevalier. Congratulations, Tim! We’d also like to congratulate, and thank, all of those named for their important and innovative work.

A photo of the screen on which the annoucement was made in a presentation
Aaron Turon , Alex Crichton , Brian Anderson , Dave Herman , Felix S. Klock II , Graydon Hoare , Marijn Haverbeke , Nicholas D. Matsakis , Patrick Walton , Tim Chevalier , Yehuda Katz , All Rust Contributors Past and Present

RISC-V International Board of Directors Software Contributor Award

RISC-V International is the “home of the open standard RISC-V Instruction Set Architecture (ISA), related specifications, and stakeholder community” with thousands of members across 70 countries. Each year the board of directors nominates and recognizes outstanding contributors in the RISC-V Hall of Fame.

This year, our colleague Alex Bradbury was honored with their Software Contributor Award. Congratulations, Alex!

A photo of the presentation in which the award was announced